Recipes & Creations

Overnight Steel Cut Oats

 

wp-1488740989810.jpg

I’ve been trying to eat healthier for breakfasts, and I’ve rediscovered oatmeal.

As a kid, I was lucky to have my mom make me a warm bowl of porridge that I would drown in brown sugar and milk until my porridge was brown. On days when I wasn’t lucky enough to have my mom make me porridge, I would eat Quaker’s Instant Dino Eggs Oatmeal or my other favourite, Instant Peaches and Cream Oatmeal. So good, so much sugar.

Now that I’m older and completely in charge of my own breakfasts, I find myself having less time in the mornings to make myself breakfasts so I spend my time in the evening preparing something to eat in the morning. I have a large bag of steel cut oats and have been looking for a way to speed up their cooking time because I don’t have 30 minutes every morning to stand around cooking them and eat them.

Ta-dah! The solution is overnight cooked steel cut oats.

They’re creamy, perfectly chewy, and pretty filling. Especially if you toast the oats beforehand, this adds a wonderful granola-like flavour.

wp-1488740985299.jpg

 

Now I no longer need to spend time standing around the stove in the morning. I just start this the night before and wake up to a delicious breakfast in the morning. All the prep needed is reheat the oats and add on your favourite toppings. I love topping my oatmeal with a tablespoon of almond butter, a drizzle of maple syrup, a splash of milk, my super easy chia seed jam, and a bit of cinnamon!

Overnight Steel Cut Oats

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Adapted from Marin Mama Cooks  

Ingredients

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 2 teaspoons coconut-oil
  • 4.25 cups of water
  • A pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Place oats into a medium sized sauce pot with coconut oil over medium heat and toast for approximately 4 minutes until lightly browned and fragrant.
  2. Add water, and salt into the pot.
  3. Bring everything to a roaring boil, about 5 minutes.
  4. Let cook for 1-2 minutes depending on how soft you like your oats. (The longer you cook them the softer they’ll be)
  5. Turn off the heat and cover, leave to sit overnight.
  6. In the morning, reheat your oats, serve, and add your favourite toppings.
  7. Store the leftovers in a sealed container for up to 4 days.

If you’re worried about the food-safety of leaving your oats unrefridgerated overnight, you can let them cool (while covered) and store them in the fridge overnight and reheat in the morning.

Leave a Reply

